The National Irrigation Administration in Region 12 formally started its operation as a region on April 10, 1978 with its office based at Villarica, Midsayap, North Cotabato. That time, it was composed of the provinces of North Cotabato, Maguindanao, Lanao del Norte, Lanao del Sur and Sultan Kudarat. It had only four operational national irrigation systems, namely: Libungan, Kabacan, Mlang and Malasila River Irrigation Systems. Moreover, there were ongoing national irrigation projects like Maranding, Rugnan and Allah II. Maranding and Rugnan are now under the supervision of NIA Region 10 while Allah II is now the Lambayong River Irrigation System.

Presently, the NIA Region 12 is composed of the provinces of North Cotabato, South Cotabato, Sarangani, Sultan Kudarat and Maguindanao – a province in the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (ARMM) whose office is still under the supervision of NIA Region 12.

In its 35 years of existence, NIA Region 12 remains steadfast in its vision, mission and objectives. With the able leadership of Regional Irrigation Manager Mario H. Sande coupled with the cooperation of all employees, we are certain that the agency could hurdle the problems and difficulties which sometimes get in the way during project implementation.

For CY 2013 and beyond, the office will continue with its effort to bring economic development and agricultural advancement to the backbone of our country – the farmers.